Barkot - Destination Overview
  • Package Prices
    Dehradun Barkot Yamnoutri Gangotri Packages starting from Rs 8999/- per pax.

Barkot - Uttrakhand

  • Coordinates - 30.82°N 78.20°E
  • Height - 1220 meters
  • Importance of Barkot - Transit Town in Char Dham Yatra enroute to Yamnoutri & Gangotri Pilgrimage.
  • Yamnoutri Gangotri  Yatra Map -

Barkot is a small town in uttrakhand 126 km from Dehradun, 180 kms from Haridwar, and is beautifully landscaped all around. Ranging from the apple orchards to the great Himalayan ranges and the snow peaks of Bandarpuch, this destination paints a picture irresistible for a travel enthusiast.

Barkot is located near Yamnoutri in Uttarkashi District in State of Uttarakhand. Perched at an elevation of about 1,220 meters above the sea level 

It is like a picture right out of your dreams! A paradise spread over a vast carpet of greenery coupled with a rich variety of flora and fauna, breathtaking views of the snow capped mountains and a town buzzing with activity marks a perfect destination for a memorable holiday.Its ravishing panoramic view, gushing water of the holy Yamuna River and Apple Orchards will make you fall in love with this amazing tourist destination.

Splendid Banderpoonch Peak and its other massive peaks of the Himalayan ranges can be easily seen from Barkot.This place is an ideal destination for holidaying and adventure tourism, as one can go for trekking and excursions here. Barkot is situated at a distance of nearly 49km from holy Yamunotri Dham. In fact, the entire Uttarkashi district is a famous tourist destination where one can explore a number of interesting places.


About Barkot & Its Importance in Char Dham Yatra

Barkot comes while visiting Yamunotri temple, and used as a night halt by most of the pilgrims during their Char Dham Yatra. The Char Dham Yatra includes a tour to Barkot from Mussoorie and includes a trip to the Kempty falls, Hanuman Chatti, Janki Chatti and Yamunotri. From there the pilgrimage tour continues for its onward journey towards Uttarkashi then Kedarnath, Badrinath, Rishikesh and Haridwar.